American Association of Teachers of German Recognizes Harvard Alumni

November 6, 2020
American Association of Teachers of German logo

The American Association of Teachers of German (AATG) has announced the winners of its 2020 awards for "outstanding contributions to the teaching and learning of German in the US." Among this year's recipients are three Harvard graduates.

2020 AATG Award Recipients
From left to right: Thomas Herold, Pascale LaFountain, Seth Peabody

The German language program at Montclair State University (Montclair, New Jersey), led by Associate Professor and Coordinator of the German Program Thomas Herold '10 and by Assistant Professor Pascale LaFountain '11, is one of two programs designated as a German Center of Excellence this year (alongside the program at University of Massachusetts Amherst). This distinction is presented to "well-established and growing German programs with demonstrated excellence in instruction and strong support from administration, professional colleagues, alumni, and students."

Seth Peabody '15 (Assistant Professor at Carleton College, Minnesota) has received the award for the 'best article on advances in scholarship in German language teaching and learning" in Die Unterrichtspraxis/Teaching German